Day 20- Hello, Cairns!

Welcome to Cairns, a tropical island of beauty & beaches.

This morning began with a 4:30am wake up to finish the last of my packing & to say goodbye to Sydney. 5:30am checkout and breakfast and we were out the doors and off to the airport by 7:00am.

I was so nostalgic as we drove through Sydney one last time. This place was like a home to me and I couldn’t image leaving it.
Our flight, scheduled to leave at 9:15 but “reevaluated” to leave at 9:30 was amazing. Each seat got an iPad complete with movies & tv. I watched “The Big Bang Theory” & dozed in and out of sleep. It was only a 3 hour flight but we were given a full breakfast!

Let me just say that Australia has the most relaxed security. TSA took 2 minutes and NO ONE checked my passport or ID. I could have been Joe Schmoe hopping on the plane. It was nice to not wait forever to be scanned though.

Our hotel is a quick drive from Cairns airport, and it is stunning. Unlike our other hotel, this one comes with a spa, gym and pool.

Another difference?

Wifi is only in the lobby, and damn it’s slow. I’ll let you know how long this post takes to upload.

We walked around today & explored a bit. They have a Target (yay!) and some stores I’m familiar with from Sydney. We grabbed lunch and enjoyed the warm weather for awhile.

I also had a delicious “sex on the beach” slushy. Yumm yumm yumm.

Tonight I’m relaxing, as tomorrow morning we leave bright and early for the Great Barrier Reef!

-EA

One thought on “Day 20- Hello, Cairns!

  1. Pingback: The Best Sightseeing Locations in Cairns | Travel , Booking & Leisure Guide

Leave a Reply

