Day 18-The Rocks and O-Bar

My last Saturday in Sydney has come and gone. 

I slept in relatively late because exhaustion is sort of catching up with me. 

We went to Paddington (again, I know, I’m sorry) one last time, but you’ll be happy to know I made no purchases. None. Nunca. Zip. Zero. 

I did, however, film my subject one last time. 

After that we headed over to Darling Harbor to visit the Wildlife Sanctuary.

Let’s take a moment to discuss how truly adorable koalas are. 

1. Don’t call them koala bears, as they aren’t bears. 

2. They’re like average college students: sleep 18 hours a day & eat things that are bad for them.

3. They’re like little humans and I want one.

Unfortunately, the cutest picture of me with a koala is on a friend’s camera, so I have to wait.

BUT Y’ALL KNOW THAT IT’LL BE ON FACEBOOK. 

Anyway, I have a slight obsession with them. 

Like I cried yesterday just looking at one. 

I almost passed out when I found out we could touch one. 

They’re perfect little creatures. 

Ok, end koala rant. 

Next a couple of us hit up The Rocks, an outdoor market similar to Paddington, but instead of homemade expensive gifts it was reminiscent of a nicer flea market. 

I got the abuelas hand-painted bowls that I hope they’ll like, so we shall see.

Also I got THE BEST mango ice cream I’ve ever had. 

You know how mango flavoured things taste like mango, but mostly taste mango flavoured? Like there’s that little off thing about them? They’re too sweet and sugary. 

This ice cream, however, was like a mango but cold. It tasted exactly like a mango does, just a different consistency. It was marvelous. 

We headed back to the hotel and got ready to go to O-Bar!!

O-Bar is a world famous revolving bar 47 floors up in the heart of Sydney. You can see literally everything from up there, including Vivid Sydney! 

I began with a vodka cranberry, because it’s always my go-to drink & it was delicious. Next came the goblin, not as sweet but with a lemon-lime flavor. Add sweet-potato chips & I was in heaven!

The view was incredible. The drinks were incredible. It was the perfect wrap up to an amazing time down under. 

We planned on going out to a really cool bar in Darling Harbor called the Scary Canary, but unfortunately my stomach didn’t agree with the chips/vodka/tim tams, so I got sick & had to stay in. Boo 😦

Today is my last day in Sydney, and I am incredibly sad about it. We’ve been here nearly 3 weeks and I feel that I haven’t even scratched the surface of all the amazing things the city has to offer. But I definitely feel comfortable here, like I could live here. I know how to work public transportation, I eat where the locals eat & I can speak the language (although that one’s a given). 

Sydney, I love you and everything about you. 

But it’s off to Cairns now. In 2 days I’ll be snorkeling in the Great Barrier Reef & laying out by the resort pool, swimming up to the bar. 

Get ready for me, Cairns!

-EA

Leave a Reply

